Copular verbs.

Copular verbs are also called linking verbs; they link the subject to a complement. (“I feel bad.” vs. “I feel badly.”)

Read Nasty Guide’s post on copular verbs and let us know what you think about slicing onions: Do you slice onions thinly? Or do you slice them thin?

The Nasty Guide to Nice Writing

Slicing it thin

by Annie Wei-Yu Kan

Yes, it’s me. I hope you weren’t expecting another filth-fest from Dirk about copulation with all sorts of people, places, and things. I’m happy to say that that knuckle-dragger isn’t getting this bit of low-hanging fruit. This is a natural topic for dealing with through cooking.

As you might expect, I cook a lot. This happens to mean that I read recipes often. And one thing I see often in recipes is this:

100 g of prosciutto, thinly sliced

or this:

Thinly slice one medium onion

What I don’t see so much is this:

2 russet potatoes, sliced thin

You see the difference, right?

Well, let me state it flatly: it’s a question of whether you slice something thinly or slice something thin.

Some people object to saying slice thin, or pack flat or feel good or or or. “These are…

View original post 502 more words

Leave a comment

